× There are tables present on this page. Depending on the size of the table and your device, these tables may be horizontally scrollable.

Tags:

There are currently no tags for this title.

Essays

Author: Lydia Davis
Bookmark this page:
Tweet This!Bookmark with Del.icio.usPost on Google Buzz
Stock Titles

Stock Title

71 In Stock at Bertrams

Price

RRP:
20.00 GBP

Long Description


From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion




'She's a joy. There's no writer quite like her' Ali Smith



'Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!' A. M. Homes



The visionary, fearless Lydia Davis presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms.


Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.


Bertrams Buyer's Notes:

The pioneer of boundary-pushing and enigmatic short fiction provides essays on 'The Art of Writing', 'Artists' and 'Writers', thinking through how an array of creative practitioners have influenced her own process. Features pieces on Thomas Pynchon, Lucia Berlin, Flaubert, Barthes and Blanchot.

Tags:

There are currently no tags for this title.